Weekly Blog #1

In my pop culture class we are discussing the incorporation of advertisement within TV shows and movies. We were to read 2 articles and reflect our thoughts on them so here they go.

As a class we were to all read the article of The Price Is Right by Emily Nussbaum where she discusses the change in advertisement, from when it first started and to what it has come to now. From reading The Price Is Right, I hear from people that they don’t agree with this new form of advertisement because they feel betrayed or that it’s too sneaky. I on the other hand like the way they have found a new way to still advertise and get what each company wants. I believe it is a smart way. In The Price Is Right Nussbaum mentioned that initially ads could only run for 6min per hour and that drastically changed to up to about 14min per hour. The question that this article brought up for me was “Do I rather have the incorporation of advertisement within the shows scripts that I watch or have irrelevant commercials that have nothing to do with what I am watching constantly interrupt the show/movie I’m watching?” I easily came to the conclusion that yes I’d rather have this form of advertisement that is now implemented. The world we live in is full of advertisement, we are pieces of walking advertisement. We acknowledge each others shoes, clothes, nails, hair, make up and whether we like it or not we are advertising to each other what we use and where without even trying. So why not put up with it in the shows/movies we watch when they fit into the script rather than have to be abruptly interrupted ever few minutes into what you are watching. That was what I got from that reading, now what are your thoughts?

http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2015/10/12/the-price-is-right-emily-nussbaum

For my second article I read The Downside of Measuring the Social Impact of Documentary Films by Alison Byrne Fields. The article goes on talking about the impact films create for viewers and film creates to become involved in some sort of social issue that the films touch on. In the article a really good example was given about how people seem to have a bigger impact on trying to make a change when it comes to seeing issues that they by themselves as an independent person can try and change, such as going vegetarian or not going to Sea World due to animal cruelty. As opposed to fighting for equality or women rights because it takes more from a person to advocate such social issues. When I read this it actually was mind blowing because I never put much thought into the impact shows and movies bring up for me. I know that watching certain shows/movies bring out strong opinions but I never thought passed it. When I read the example of Sea World and not eating certain foods I totally related. I remember hearing and watching a video of the cruelty at Sea World and I have no intentions nor desire to ever have to go. I’m Mexican so not eating meat is like basically impossible but I have minimized eating it. Only for special occasions or special foods but rarely do I eat meat here in the U.S. Same went with watching the trailer to that one new movie of the German Shepard dog, where they through him in the water for a scene. I’m sure other movies do similar things but actually seeing it happen as a dog owner it got to me so as nice as the movie seemed no part of me wanted to watch it. When it comes to bigger issues I do get that it is harder so it makes sense that it motivates and brings up strong feelings for people but it doesn’t impact them to the point to advocate. Watching shows/movies where race, inequality, abortion topics are shown and as much as a person has strong opinions I agree and do believe that it seems like those issues are too big just for the person watching the show/movie. From watching to finding how to get involved, where and how to start is totally different from just changing a thing from your meal or vacation destination. Although I do think that it is a good way to get social concepts and issues out there for people to see and learn about because regardless of how many people actually seek to make a change I believe it;s important educate those who have the privilege to stay home watch and not do anything about it and for those who do make an effort to seek change.

http://www.indiewire.com/2014/08/the-downside-of-measuring-the-social-impact-of-documentary-films-23582/

 

1 thought on “Weekly Blog #1”

  1. Well done on your blog 🙂 Thank you for doing the readings! And correctly italicizing film titles 😀

    When you cite an article make sure you cite it in MLA or APA format, not just the url. BUT, I am super stoked that you cited the articles! Huzzah!

    I also am glad that you read the article on measuring documentary film outcomes. The challenge is that sometimes we can see a direct impact (like Blackfish about Sea World), other times it there may be no way to know if a person becomes vegetarian or vegan after watching Food, Inc or some such documentary because like you, you may limit your meat consumption, but it would be impractical given your culture to completely give up meat. I watched a show on how objects are created in the world. I loved the documentary Objectified. In one section of the film, they show a beach full of plastic toothbrushes and how much pollution plastic toothbrushes create in our environment and oceans. Then later in the film it shows a design company brainstorming ideas on how to create an environmentally sustainable toothbrush. One of the ideas was a bamboo toothbrush. Four years later I am in Target, and I see a bamboo toothbrush. I bought it and have used bamboo toothbrushes ever since. That documentary had an impact on me, and how I consume toothbrushes but there is no way anyone could have measured that because bamboo toothbrushes weren’t even on the market for four years later.

    I think the article makes a good point that it is important for filmmakers to align themselves with activists who can carry on the activism that arises from the film, but perhaps it isn’t the filmmakers’ job to generate activism and change. They need to focus on creating engaging films that captivate and create awareness.

    Great job on your blog!

    10/10

    Like

Leave a Reply

